Welcome To Department of Aerospace Engineering, IIT Kharagpur

The department was set up in 1965 leading to B.Tech (Hons.) degree after a high power committee appointed by GOI stressed the need for manpower training in the field of Aeronautical Engineering. Over the years, the department has built up laboratories in the areas of Aerodynamics, Structures, Propulsion, System & Controls, Aeromodelling etc. A Centre of Excellence for Composite Structures Technology and CFD from 1999, 1988 respectively, funded by ARDB, has been established in 1999. Currently, the research efforts of the faculty are supported by a large number of projects sponsored by ARDB, ADA, ISRO, DST, AICTE, MHRD and many other organisations.


Mr. Tuhin Bandopadhyay, a 4th year UG student of the Department, has been selected for the coveted International Gas Turbine Institute Student Scholarship Program.

Oct 12, 2018
Inauguration of the Annexe Building
Dr. Partha P Chakrabarti, the Director of IIT Kharagpur, inaugurated the G+3 Annexe Building of the Department of Aerospace Engineering today at 10:00 AM.
Oct 03, 2018
The Aerospace Engineering department welcomes assistant professor, Dr. Amardip Ghosh as our newest faculty member.
Apr 03, 2018
Subham Jena, a 4th year undergraduate student selected for the prestigious S.N. Bose Scholars Program (Host institution: University of Maryland) for 2018.
Apr 01, 2018
Neelakash Biswas, a 3rd year undergraduate student selected for the prestigious Mitacs Program (Host institution: University of Manitoba) for 2018.
Mar 31, 2018